14.09.2021

Yogurt, Youhurt, Yogourt or Yoghourt. Wow, that’s confusing.

And, here I thought that the only thing I don’t like about yogurt is it’s taste.

Before everyone jumps on me for not liking their favorite yogurt, which comes in different flavors. Let me tell you, my parents have done it already… But, I simply don’t like the taste of it and the smell as well.

Nevertheless, it sure does fascinate me.

It is produced by bacterial fermentation of milk. And the bacteria has a name as well…. *Drum roll please* Yogurt Cultures.
The process fascinates me even more…
As per my understanding, these bacteria’s ferment the sugar present in milk and this produces lactic acid which in further acts on milk protein and it in turn gives Yogurt its texture and flavor.

Interesting right?

Another fun fact? Each different type of milk produces different type of yogurt.

Even Mughal emperor Akbar’s cook used to make different flavored yogurt for him.

Though, I don’t know when it was originated. I sure do know that it is said to have been originated in Mesopotamia. Some name for a place, right?

Though, I don’t like it. It is fascinating how invisible to naked eyes bacteria can create such big difference overnight.

It is made up of live cultures and is often considered a probiotic which has a positive effect on immune and metabolic health.

Guess my immune health sucks.

Safety warning: Do not consume yogurt made of raw milk. It might be contaminated with bacteria and prove harmful for you health causing various diseases.

Take care and enjoy yogurt
Or not…!

Author: Divyanshi

It's a new journey.

Leave a comment